The Remains of Kenya 2014

I’m late. I know. I apologize. I just got so caught up in our time in a Kenya & I didn’t post much about the last leg of our mission, so here it is!

On Thursday we did VBS at Mabatini again but after lunch I had the opportunity to go out into that slums and do house visits. I visited 4 houses with a few Mabatini staff members and social workers and alongside a few others from our group as well. CHE(community health evangelism) uses these cool cubes with pictures to teach about different topics. I taught once about HIV/AIDS using the cube and a few others taught about malaria and used the evangelism cube to share.

Friday was our last VBS & it was with 4/5th graders and flew by. After VBS we had lunch and a farewell celebration with the Mabatini staff. We danced, a lot. We sang, expressed gratitude and shared cake. Then we headed to the Friday Maasai Market and well, that was something else. You have to barter for practically everything in Kenya and…I suck at it. I walked away with some sweet stuff but it was not my favorite experience or part of the trip, that is for sure. For dinner we went straight from the market to Ethiopian. Another strange thing to add to the day. The plate was massive and filled with different meats and foods that you ate with a spongey napkin like thing. I really don’t like stepping out of my comfort zone when it comes to food so needless to say I went to bed hungry that night.

Saturday morning we left for our safari. The safari was awesome and the lodge was way too nice. I didn’t really care too much about the safari but it was fun. By that time we got done with it, I was glad that it was time to go home. Monday we loaded up our vans, drove back to Nairobi and crashed Mary Kamau’s house. We got to shower, eat spaghetti and burritos, watch cartoons and relax before our long journey home. We flew out of Kenya late, so our 11:50pm flight was after 12:30. We had to rush to get to our gate in London, go all the way through American customs again in Chicago and sit through many hours of boring flying but we finally made it home to PDX!

My stomach is still in Kenya mode, used to nothing but rice and stew/slop. My internal clock is also still on Kenya mode. It’s 1am here at home and I’m wide awake because I have yet to adjust. Darn. Eventually I will get back to normal. Hopefully sooner than later. Pictures are being uploaded bit by bit & hopefully through those you can better experience and picture what our trip was like!

HUGE thanks to everyone who prayed for our team and followed our trip. Bwana Asafiwe!

Leave a Reply

